MSG: The Melbourne Social Guide

Helping you add flavour to this wonderful city.

Esposito

with 43 comments

162 Elgin Street Carlton 3053
(Corner Elgin Street & Drummond Street)
Phone 03 9347 9838

Lunch:  Mon-Fri  from 12 noon

Dinner: Mon-Sat from 6.00pm

web

Located on the corner of Elgin and Drummond Streets lies Esposito, the restaurant by Maurie Esposito. Esposito brings us ‘seafood dining’ with a strong focus on sustainable, yet the freshest, highest quality produce, with an Italian flair.

With entrees priced between $21-26, and mains $26-$42, this place is not inexpensive. However, Esposito have a weeknight special Loaves and Fishes menu – $35 for 2 courses with a glass of wine. Available Monday to Thursday lunch and dinner. This sounded too good to be true, so we had to go for it..

We began with an amuse;

amuse-bouche

A light seaweed salad, served with toasted sesame, a delightful way to whet the appetite.

For entrees T had;

Mud Crab Tortellini in a leek and crustacean broth

This dish was perfect. Big call, but it was incredible. The hand-rolled pasta was perfectly cooked al dente, filled with fresh mud crab in a rich, warming broth. Although this was T’s dish, I ended up eating most of it.

Mud crab, avocado & green apple salad, young spinach and spinach essence

Unfortunately my entree was not as nice. The idea of this dish sounded good on paper, but in execution there was an excess of ‘greenery’. It was over-powering in a ‘grassy’ sort of flavour.

Onto mains; I had the

John Dory Fillets with calamari ragout with artichokes, watercress and lemon

John Dory Fillets and calamari ragout

The fish fillets were perfectly cooked and well seasoned. The calamari ragout was well restrained in flavour and a great accompaniment to the fish.

Fillets of King George Whiting grilled or in beer batter, thin chips and house made tartare $42

Fillets of King George Whiting grilled or in beer batter, thin chips and house made tartare

At $42 on the a la carte menu, this is the most expensive item on the menu. T was curious as to how you could make fish & chips (which is essentially what this dish is) special. My god, Esposito nailed it. This is the best fish and chips I’ve ever had. Bar none. The fish was perfectly cooked, melt in your mouth tender. The house made tartare was also great. Again, I would say this dish is perfect. I cannot imagine how this dish could be better.

Note – I am a terrible blogger, I visited months ago so the menu has changed since.

.

Jess’ Ratings

Taste: 9 – high points T’s dishes, didn’t enjoy my entree though

Value: 10. With the glass of wine that accompanied the meal, $35 each for 2 courses made this meal good value. cheap. Good value is an understatement. With the quality of the produce cooked the way it was, it was really a bargain.  I believe the serves are slightly smaller in the loaves and fishes menu – and although we were not stuffed, we were perfectly satisfied.

Ambience: 9.5. Fine dining at its best. White linen table cloths, ambient background music, and just the perfect amount of mood-lighting, accentuated by the candle light on each table. A warm greeting from the staff, accompanied most importantly with a smile makes you feel instantly welcome.

Service: 9.5. Exceptional, the staff made us feel comfortable and at home.

Overall: 9.5. Wonderful.

.

Esposito has also opened a new restaurant St Peter’s in Melbourne Place at the old Canary Club with a similar menu, which I have recently visited and loved. Review to come soon.

Written by glutamatejess

November 8, 2010 at 2:12 am

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you been to Saint Peters, the new Esposito seafood resto? I wonder how it compares to the Carlton original. They also have $42 fish and chips!

  2. Yes I have been and it’s great! I will post my review soon! They have 1/2 price on the a la carte menu for the month of November. Let me know if u want to go, I’d be more than happy to partake on some half price seafood.
    Though – everything we ordered non-seafood was average. not bad, just average. The seafood though, pretty special.

    glutamatejess

    November 11, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  3. Oh wow! $42 for fish and chips better be good, and the fact that it was, is a lifesaver! Can you imagine if it was bad? I’d kill the chef!!!

    msihua

    November 29, 2010 at 12:05 pm

  4. This blog site has got some extremely helpful information on it! Cheers for helping me.

    website

    June 6, 2012 at 6:25 am

  5. Whilst I genuinely like this post, I believe there was an spelling error close to the finish from the 3rd section.

    online cash loan

    June 21, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  6. After I start your Feed it seems to be a ton of garbage, is the issue on my part?

    click here

    June 22, 2012 at 6:54 am

  7. I love that site layout ! How did you make it!? It is so good.

  8. Re: The person who produced the comment that this was an excellent site genuinely needs to get their head evaluated.

    account

    June 24, 2012 at 8:42 am

  9. I think one of your current advertisements caused my web browser to resize, you may well need to set that on your blacklist.

    look into loans payday

    June 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm

  10. I adore that blog layout ! How do you make it? It is really nice.

    party venue surrey

    June 27, 2012 at 12:34 am

  11. The design for your blog is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your site. I may have to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

    linkedin for business

    June 27, 2012 at 11:36 am

  12. I enjoy your wp layout, where did you get a hold of it?

  13. It appears to me that this site doesnt load in a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the exact same problem? I enjoy this webpage and dont want to have to miss it whenever Im away from my computer.

    metal-detector-town.com

    June 28, 2012 at 6:00 pm

  14. When I open up your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of junk, is the issue on my part?

    quickbooks consultant

    June 29, 2012 at 10:24 am

  15. If you could message me with a few tips about how you made this website look like this , Id appreciate it!

    buy fridge freezer

    June 30, 2012 at 2:32 pm

  16. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your web site? I am looking for a good web host and your blog seams to be extremely fast and up most the time

  17. Can you email me with any hints on how you made your site look this awesome, I would be appreciative!

    address

    July 1, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  18. Strange , your posting shows up with a dark hue to it, what color is the primary color on your site?

    easy ecommerce

    July 2, 2012 at 3:21 pm

  19. I tried taking a look at your web site on my mobile phone and the design does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your web page.

    visit budapest

    July 4, 2012 at 2:56 am

  20. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried including it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  21. It looks to me that this website doesnt load up in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I enjoy this web site and dont want to have to miss it any time Im away from my computer.

  22. Cool post ! Cheers for, posting on my blog page mate. I shall message you some time. I did not know that!

  23. Fantastic Stuff, do you currently have a myspace profile?

    this month

    July 7, 2012 at 10:55 pm

  24. Nice post ! Thanks for, posting on this blog page dude. I shall email you again! I didnt know that!

  25. I feel one of your current advertisements triggered my internet browser to resize, you may well want to set up that on your blacklist.

  26. Have you considered including a few social bookmarking links to these blogs. At the very least for twitter.

    cosmetic dentistry nyc

    July 10, 2012 at 6:39 pm

  27. The structure for the site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your web site. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  28. How come you dont have your site viewable in wap format? Can not see anything in my netbook.

    inside cash loans

    July 11, 2012 at 12:43 pm

  29. The structure for the site is a bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your website. I might need to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  30. I believe one of your advertisements triggered my web browser to resize, you might well want to put that on your blacklist.

    follow us on twitter

    July 12, 2012 at 6:29 pm

  31. Have you considered adding some relevant links to the article? I think it might enhance viewers understanding.

    spinach recipe

    July 13, 2012 at 5:58 am

  32. Please message me with any hints & tips on how you made your website look this cool , I would be appreciative!

  33. I was basically wanting to know if you ever considered switching the layout of your website? Its very well written; I really like what youve got to state. But maybe you can create a little more in the way of written content so people could connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you can space it out better?

    principles

    July 13, 2012 at 2:23 pm

  34. As soon as I originally left a comment I clicked on the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment.

    work from home site

    July 14, 2012 at 1:30 pm

  35. How did you make a blog look this sick!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. .

    big bear tanning

    July 14, 2012 at 4:33 pm

  36. Have you considered adding a few social bookmarking buttons to these sites. At the very least for bebo.

    company web site

    July 15, 2012 at 12:23 pm

  37. This website is very cool. How can I make one like this .

    try water ionizer

    July 16, 2012 at 11:07 pm

  38. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Rss feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account but got absolutely nothing.

    partner site

    July 17, 2012 at 2:54 am

  39. Re: Whoever created the remark that this was an excellent internet site genuinely needs to possess their brain analyzed.

    sponsor

    July 17, 2012 at 4:34 am

  40. As soon as I initially left a comment I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get 4 email messages with the exact same comment.

    appstar complaint

    July 17, 2012 at 6:32 am

  41. I believe that one of your ads caused my web browser to resize, you may well want to get that on your blacklist.

    showerheads

    July 17, 2012 at 6:35 am

  42. I believe that one of your ads initiated my web browser to resize, you might well want to set up that on your blacklist.

    click

    July 17, 2012 at 1:22 pm

  43. Idei de promovare site online

    promovare web

    March 19, 2013 at 1:41 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

