MSG: The Melbourne Social Guide

Helping you add flavour to this wonderful city.

Rosa’s Kitchen

leave a comment »

So.. it’s been a long time between blogging. It’s just simply too time consuming.. coupled with the guilt that I have all these other things I should do and don’t do, namely work and tax. But, Saturday night’s experience was so delightful I really want to just tell everyone how wonderful it was.

Rosa’s Kitchen.

Rosa Mitchell has returned to the CBD and is now dishing up delicious Sicilian fare in Punch Lane.

Small intimate venue, seating approx 40.

Chalkboard menu which rotates every fortnight or so. Antipasto, 4 pastas, 5 mains.

I love a small menu, quality over quantity any day I say.

We started with the antipasto platter.

antipasto - small $22

antipasto – small $22

We opted for the small serve, which was pretty substantial. There was fried ricotta, cauliflower fritter, charg-rilled eggplant, pickled zucchini, olives, some cured meat (I forget what!) and a tomato salad. Everything was fresh and delicious. Wonderful start.

For the main affair, I couldn’t decide between a pasta and a main, so the wonderful Miss M went halvies with me so we could have the best of both worlds.

orichette with cauliflower and anchovies - $22

orichette with cauliflower, saffron and anchovies – $22

The orchiette was cooked perfectly al dente. The dish was well balanced and very rustic. Simplicity at it’s best.

garlic stuffed calamari, green beans - $32

stuffed calamari, green beans – $33

Oh. My. God. Heaven. After my first bite of the calamari I wished I wasn’t sharing. I’m not sure what the calamari was stuffed with exactly but I think perhaps some breadcrumb mix with garlic? This dish was executed perfectly. I couldn’t think of a way to improve it.

We ended with a massive slice of chocolate and orange cake which was big enough for the three of us to share. It was perfectly light and fluffy.

Service was impeccable, and the wine list was brief but thoughtful. We drank Soave $10.50 (my favourite!) and Grillo $9.50.

Rosa’s kitchen. Simple, but stunning. Exceptional value, I can’t wait to go back.

Rosa,

will you be my nonna?

x

-Jess

map

22 Punch Lane, CBD

Open:  Tues-Sat, Lunch  and Dinner.

Rosa's Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Written by glutamatejess

March 18, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Leave a comment